What’s this all about then?

I’ve been a reasonably keen cyclist for a couple of years now, and in a fit of misguided enthuiasm I decided, this summer, to do a 3 day London to Paris ride. A fantastic, if slightly achey, experience, but when I nursing my legs (and my broken hand – long story) at my parents house in Paris my mother happened to mention in passing “It’s strange that you’re so keen on cycling – your great Uncle used to be, and ran a bike shop or something in Liverpool”. I was curious, spent a couple of weeks bashing google about and found out that the guy did a little bit more than run a bike shop.

Turns out that he was a chap called Harry Quinn, and that at one stage he was one of the most famous frame builders in the country. He was based in Liverpool, and in the 60s, 70s and beyond he was making some of the most aggressive racing machines available. Reynolds launched their new steels with him, and he took on a chap called Terry Dolan as an apprentice, who now designs bikes for people like Chris Hoy.

Funny thing is that one of my earliest memories is a Christmas morning we spent with the family in Liverpool when a strange man delivered by older brother (aged 6) his first bike. I don’t think any of my family appreciated that the kind uncle who provided my brother’s  bike at mates rates was a master craftsman.

Anyway, since then I’ve put a fair bit of time into locating an original Harry Quinn frame to rebuild. It will probably enrage some genuine bike restorers to know that (I do apologise…) I don’t really have any intention to try to recreate the original bike with period parts. Quite the opposite. I don’t want this bike to be a museum piece, or gather dust in my garage. I want to ride it. I want to get it muddy, and use it whenever I can. At some point I hope to use it to cycle from Lands End to John O’Groats.

Before you spit your tea out on your keyboard, I’m not going to be a total heathen. I do intend to do it sympathetically, and will be using some vintage stuff. However I reckon if Harry Quinn was helping me build the bike up himself he’d be straight on the Wiggle website getting the best and most modern stuff he could find. After all, he always made his bikes with the most cutting edge parts.

By the way, let me be quite clear about one thing up front. I’m a total, utter, bike maintenance / restoration novice, so will be learning a lot on this journey. So, summoning the Spirit of HQ to guide me, it’s time to get to work on my first ever vintage bike!

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s this all about then?

  1. John Barnfield says:

    Hi.

    Just found out about your Harry Quinn project, and see that it all happened a while ago. How did it turn out…..I hope you sent it to Argos, thet are the best for sure.

    • chris says:

      Hello! Sad to report no progress as yet but I’ve not given up hope yet! A house move and some other shenanigans got in the way somewhat, but I’ll be saving up again soon. Looking more like next year before I’ll be able to get the little beauty rolling.

  2. John Barnfield says:

    No shame in adding modern parts if you want to, it will make it more enjoyable to ride, and to be honest, modern gear works far better than period stuff does, its your choice. I have a 1972 HQ, that I was lucky enough to come across, totally original and in good condition, doesn’t really need a respray even, and I plan to keep it that way. It has all Campag record parts, and I just love it. By the way, transfers (decals) are available so no need to worry there….google Lloyds decals. Oh, and plan on spending £200+ for a decent renovation.

Leave a Reply

